en
en ру
Olkhon Island
"Heart of the Baikal"

Olkhon is the largest island on Lake Baikal. It is called the "heart of the Baikal" for it is located just in the center of the lake. In addition, if you look at the map, Olkhon shape resembles the one of Lake Baikal. The name of the island derives from the Buryat word "oyhon" - "forest", although the forest is found only in the central part of the island. The length of the island is about 72 km, the maximum width – 15 km. The population is about 1500 people. At the peak of a tourist season the number of people, of course, is much more.

The Buryats believe that the most menacing spirits of Lake Baikal inhabits the island. According to a legend, HotoBaabai Khan came down from heaven and chose his earthly castle on the island, to sit in judgment over people. His son, the white eagle, first received the shaman gift long agoand he has been guarding the island since.

Olkhon Island is a part of the Pribaikalsky National Park. There are no paved roads on the island, the terrain features allow you to move comfortably only on SUVs. Olkhon is a very popular tourist destination. There are many hotels, holiday centers and guesthouses on the island to meet any taste and budget. However, it is recommended to book accommodation in advance.

The deepest point of Lake Baikal, 1637 m, is located not far from the northeastern shore of Olkhon.

Tourists go to Olkhon to enjoy beautiful nature and collect incredible energy of Lake Baikal. This is the center of Buryat and Central Asian shamanism, there are many sacred places, including one of the nine shrines of Asia – Shamanka Rock. According to local legends, the first Buryat shaman received his gift on the island.

Lots of houses on the island have holes of 15x15 cmin the fences. Guess why?

How to get:

Olkhon is located 300 km from Irkutsk. You can get to the ialsnd by car or public transport. From May to December, ferries connect the island with the mainland. At the peak of the tourist season in July and August, even three existing ferries are not enough, and queues appear at the crossing. Therefore, tourist groups usually use a three-stage-transfer: by bus to the crossing – ferry – transfer to a hotel by colorful local minivans – UAZ. The transfer from Irkutsk to the island usually takes 6 hours and more. 
In winter, there is an ice crossing (February-March), cars and vans can pass it on the ice. In the off-season (January, April) small hovercrafts –“Khivus” carry out crossing to the island. In winter, all the way from Listvyanka to Olkhon Island can be done on the ice of Lake Baikal. It takes about 8 hours and allows seeing great Lake Baikal beauties and legendary Baikal ice.
In summer, you can get to Olkhon from Irkutsk and Listvyanka by the scheduled hydrofoil "Cometa" (www.vsrp.ru) twice a week. The journey from Listvyanka takes only 4 hours. By "Cometa», you can also take "Olkhon for a day" tour, despite the impressive distance from Irkutsk.
Olkhon can be reached by helicopter for 1.5 hours (there is an airfield in the village of Kharantsy). Olkhon is also a must-see and must-visit for Lake Baikal cruises.

Possible activities:

- Go to the famous Cape Burkhan and see the most recognizable natural Lake Baikal monument– Shamanka Rock. It is worth visiting at sunset – the view is stunning and catching. 
- Tie a “hadak” (a piece of fabric where each color has its own symbolic meaning) on a wooden post (“serge”) on Cape Burhan and make a wish. The most popular color is blue. It symbolizes peace and harmony.
- Relax on the long sandy beach of Saraisky Bay
-Take a tour around the island – to the North of Olkhon, to Cape Hoboy, or to the South of the island. Excursions are conducted on UAZ minivans and usually take 6-7 hours. 
- Listen to beautiful Buryat legends. Olkhon is the heart of the ancient Buryat myths and legends. Any iconic place on the island has its interesting story. 
- In winter – travel around the island on beautiful ice. There are places with the famous "bubble" ice, as well as ice grottoes and splashes. 
-In summer – take one of the water excursions around the island. 
- Try the Buryat cuisine – “pozy” (meat stuffed dumplings), “buhler”(mutton soup), “tarasun”(alcohol beverage), “salamat”(boiled sour cream with flour and salt)

Tours on Lake Baikal Cruises on Lake Baikal Ship rent Guide About us
Main office in Irkutsk
Gagarin Blvd, 44
Representative office in Moscow
st. Pokrovka 33/22
Sign up to our new tours and cruises
Visa, MasterCard, Мир
© Eastlandturs Ltd., register of tour operators РТО 019809

Иркутск +7 3952 250-000
Москва +7 495 624-40-06
рус
en
ру en
Остров Ольхон
Сердце Байкала

Ольхон – самый большой остров на Байкале. Его называют «сердцем Байкала» - он расположен в центре озера, и если присмотреться к карте, то своими очертаниями Ольхон очень напоминает контур Байкала. Свое название остров получил от бурятского «ойхон» - «лесочек», хотя по большей части ландшафты степные, лес встречается лишь в центральной части Ольхона. Длина острова ок. 72 км., наибольшая ширина – 15 км. Население не превышает 1500 чел, хотя в пик туристического сезона численность людей, конечно, гораздо больше.

Согласно бурятским легендам, именно на Ольхоне обитают самые грозные духи Байкала. По преданию, Хан-Хото Бабай спустился с небес и избрал себе земной замок на Ольхоне, чтобы вершить суд над людьми. Его сын, живущий в образе белого орла, первым получил дар шамана и по сей день охраняет остров.

Территория Ольхона входит в состав Прибайкальского национального парка. На острове нет асфальтированных дорог, особенности рельефа позволяют комфортно передвигаться только на внедорожниках. На острове достаточно много гостиниц, баз отдыха на любой вкус и кошелек, но бронировать размещение всегда нужно заранее, Ольхон – очень популярное у туристов место.

Недалеко от северо-восточного берега Ольхона находится самая глубокая точка Байкала – 1637 м.
На Ольхон едут за красивой природой и невероятной энергетикой Байкала. Это центр бурятского и центрально-азиатского шаманизма, здесь сконцентрировано множество сакральных мест, в том числе, одна из девяти святынь Азии – Скала Шаманка.  По преданиям, именно здесь получил свой дар первый бурятский шаман.
Жительница ольхонского поселка Хужир задала вопрос знатокам Что? Где? Когда? – для чего в заборе почти каждого хужирского дома есть отверстие (примерно 15*15 см.). Знатоки ответить не смогли. А Вы догадаетесь? 

Как добраться

  • Ольхон расположен в 300 км. от Иркутска. Можно добраться на автомобиле или рейсовом транспорте. С мая по декабрь остров связан с материком паромной переправой. В пик сезона в июле и августе даже трех существующих паромов не достаточно, и на переправе скапливаются очереди. Поэтому для туристических групп обычно используется трансфер в три этапа: автобус до переправы – переправа на пароме без транспорта – трансфер на базу на местном колоритном транспорте – УАЗах. Трансфер на остров из Иркутска обычно занимает не менее 6 часов.
  • Зимой действует ледовая переправа (февраль-март), легковые автомобили и микроавтобусы могут проезжать по льду. В межсезонье (январь, апрель) переправа на остров осуществляется на небольших судах на воздушной подушке – хивусах. Зимой весь путь от Листвянки до Ольхона можно проделать по льду Байкала на хивусе, это займет ок. 8 часов, но позволит вдоволь насмотреться на красивый байкальский лед.
  • Летом можно добраться на Ольхон из Иркутска и Листвянки на рейсовом быстроходном теплоходе «Комета» (vsrp.ru), который ходит дважды в неделю. Путь из Листвянки займет всего 4 часа, а очереди на паром «Комете» не страшны. На теплоходе «Комета» также можно совершить экскурсию «Ольхон за 1 день», несмотря на внушительное расстояние от Иркутска.
  • На Ольхон можно добраться на вертолете за 1,5 часа (есть площадка для посадки в пос. Харанцы), а также это обязательный пункт круизов по Байкалу.

Чем заняться и что посмотреть

  • Сходить на знаменитый мыс Бурхан и увидеть самый узнаваемый пейзаж Байкала – Скалу Шаманка. Стоит прийти сюда на закате – вид просто потрясающий.
  • Повязать на столб сергэ на мысе Бурхан ленточку или хадак (каждый цвет имеет свое значение) и загадать желание.
  • Отдохнуть на длинном песчаном Сарайском пляже.
  • Отправиться на одну из экскурсий по острову – на север Ольхона, мыс Хобой, или на юг острова. Экскурсии проводятся на автомобилях УАЗ и обычно занимают 6-7 часов.
  • Послушать во время экскурсии несколько красивых бурятских легенд. Ольхон – сосредоточие древних мифов и бурятских преданий. Ни одно знаковое место на Ольхоне не обошлось без своей интересной истории.
  • Зимой – поездить вокруг острова по красивому льду. Именно около Ольхона есть места со знаменитым «пузырьковым» льдом, а также ледяные гроты и наплески.
  • Летом – отправиться на одну из водных экскурсий вокруг острова.
  • Попробовать бурятскую кухню – позы (бузы), бухлер, тарасун, саламат.
Туры по Байкалу Круизы по Байкалу Деловые мероприятия Аренда теплоходов Путеводитель по Байкалу О компании
Главный офис в Иркутске
б-р Гагарина, 44
Представительство в Москве
ул. Покровка 33/22
Подписывайтесь
на новые туры и круизы
Следите за нами в соцсетях
Visa, MasterCard, Мир
© ООО «Истлэндтурс», реестр туроператоров РТО 019809