en
en ру
KBZhD
The Circum Baikal Railway

The Circum-Baikal railway (KBZhD) is an old section of the TRANS-Siberian railway from the village of Slyudyanka II to the Baikal Port, 89 kilometers long, which runs along the shore of Lake Baikal. 

In 1891, Tsar Alexander III issued the Decree on the beginning of the construction of the TRANS-Siberian railway, "having ordered to begin the construction of the railway across Siberia, which has to connect the abundant gifts of the Siberian region with a network of internal rail links". The railway around the southern extremity of Lake Baikal was built in 1899-1905.
Up to the 1950th, the Circum-Baikal railway was operational as a part of the TRANS-Siberian railway. However, after the construction of the Irkutsk hydroelectric plant on the Angara-river, the water level in Lake Baikal rose by 1 meter and the railroad from Irkutsk to Baikal Port went under water. The TRANS-Siberian railway had to be laid in another direction through the mountains. The Circum-Baikal railway became a dead-end segment. In 1956, traintraffic stopped on the KBZhD. The second track was removed, some stations were abolished.

The KBZhD received the status of a historical and architectural monument and was taken under the state protection.

Today the KBZhD is mainly known as a tourist destination. The Circum-Baikal railway – a unique monument of engineering art. Thousands of tourists come here every year from all over the world to make sure of this.

There are 39 tunnels on the Circum-Baikal railway with total length of 9063 m (the longest of them — a tunnel through Cape Polovinny of 778 m), 15 stone galleries (currently only 5 of them in use) and three metal-concrete galleries, 248 bridges and stone viaducts, 268 supporting walls. The number of engineering structures on the KBZhDis impressive, has no equal in Russia, and it takes one of the first places in the world.


The Circum-Baikal railway is called "the Golden buckle of the steel belt of Russia". This is due to the unprecedented costs for the construction of the road.

How to get:

You can take a day tour on a tourist train along the KBZhD. There are options – a modern rail bus or a real retro locomotive. In summer, the tour is available almost daily, takes a full day (12-14 hours). On the way, the train makes 4-6 stops at the most interesting places of the Circum-Baikal railway – Slyudyanka, Shumikha (the Italian supportive wall), a Cape Polovinny, Kirkirey, Sharyzhalgay, Angasolka, Baikal Port.

In summer, you can take a water tour along the KBZhD by "Barguzin" hovercraft. This is a good alternative to the train – the tour is less tiring (9 hours), and has three stops – Cape Tolsty, Shumikha and Cape Polovinny, and enough time for walking.

You can also go hiking, choosing one of the KBZhD sections.

Possible activities:

-View numerous tunnels, bridges, viaducts and galleries, complemented by views of Lake Baikal. Be sure to visit the longest tunnel on Cape Polovinny and the curved tunnel on Cape Tolsty.

- Take beautiful pictures and selfies. Special luck – to capture a real locomotive.

- Listen to guide stories about the Circum-Baikal railway. This place, in addition, is also associated with many legends.

- Have a picnic on the shore of Lake Baikal. If you go along the KBZhD by boat, the time for the picnic will be enough.

Tours on Lake Baikal Cruises on Lake Baikal Ship rent Guide About us
Main office in Irkutsk
Gagarin Blvd, 44
Representative office in Moscow
st. Pokrovka 33/22
Sign up to our new tours and cruises
Visa, MasterCard, Мир
© Eastlandturs Ltd., register of tour operators РТО 019809

Иркутск +7 3952 250-000
Москва +7 495 624-40-06
рус
en
ру en
КБЖД
Золотая Пряжка железного пояса России

Кругобайкальской железной дорогой (КБЖД) называют участок Транссибирской магистрали от пос. Слюдянка II до порта Байкал длиной 89 километров, которая проходит вдоль берега Байкала. 

В 1891 г. царь Александр III издал указ о начале строительства Транссибирской магистрали, "повелев ныне приступить к постройке сплошной через всю Сибирь железной дороги, имеющей соединить обильные дарами сибирские области с сетью внутренних рельсовых сообщений", участок вокруг южной части Байкала строился 1899-1905 гг.
До 50-х годов ХХ века КБЖД полноценно функционировала как участок Транссиба. Но после постройки ГЭС на Ангаре уровень воды в Байкале поднялся на 1 метр и дорога от Иркутска до Байкала "затонула". Транссиб проложили по горам в обход озера, а КБЖД стала тупиковым участком. В 1956 г. движение поездов по КБЖД было остановлено. Кругобайкальская дорога перестала быть магистралью. Здесь были сняты вторые пути, упразднены некоторые станции.

В настоящее время участок от ст. Култук до ст. порт Байкал - тупиковый. В конце 70-х гг. этот тупиковый участок получил статус историко-архитектурного памятника и был взят под охрану государством. На сегодня КБЖД, в основном, известен именно как туристический объект.

КБЖД – уникальный памятник инженерного искусства. По количеству разного рода работ, приходящихся на 1 км пути, и по трудности их выполнения Кругобайкальская дорога превзошла все построенные рельсовые пути, и по праву считается красивейшей среди железных дорог мира. Отовсюду ежегодно сюда приезжают тысячи туристов, желающих убедиться в этом.

На КБЖД 38 тоннелей общей длиной 9063 м (самый длинный из них — тоннель через мыс Половинный длиной 778 м), 15 каменных галерей общей длиной 295 м (сейчас используется только 5 из них) и 3 железобетонных галереи с отверстиями, 248 мостов и виадуков, 268 подпорных стенок. По насыщенности инженерными сооружениями КБЖД не имеет равных в России и занимает одно из первых мест в мире.

Кругобайкальскую железную дорогу называют «золотой пряжкой стального пояса России». Это связано, во-первых, с небывалыми по тем временам затратами на строительство дороги, а во-вторых, с тем, что во время Октябрьской Революции ок. 180 тонн золотого запаса Российской Империи были утеряны здесь у берегов Байкала во время крушения поезда.

Как добраться

По КБЖД можно проехаться на туристическом поезде в рамках однодневной экскурсии. Есть варианты – современный рельсовый автобус или настоящий ретро-поезд на угольной тяге. Летом экскурсия проводится практически ежедневно, занимает целый день (12-14 часов), в пути поезд делает 4-6 остановок в самых интересных местах КБЖД – Слюдянка, Итальянская стенка, мыс Половинный, Киркирей, Шарыжалгай, Ангасолка, Порт-Байкал.

Летом вдоль КБЖД можно совершать экскурсию на теплоходе «Баргузин». Это хорошая альтернатива поезду – экскурсия менее утомительна (9 часов), а на трех остановках – мыс Толстый, Шумиха и мыс Половинный, достаточно времени для прогулок.

Можно также отправиться по КБЖД в пеший поход, выбрав один из ее участков.

Чем заняться и что посмотреть

  • Посмотреть многочисленные атмосферные туннели, мосты, виадуки и галереи, дополненные видами на Байкал. Обязательно посетите самый длинный туннель на мысе Половинный и необычный изогнутый туннель на мысе Толстый.
  • Сделать красивые фотографии. Особая удача – запечатлеть настоящий угольный паровоз.
  • Послушать рассказы экскурсоводы – о КБЖД можно рассказывать бесконечно. С этим местом, кроме фактов, связано еще и много легенд.
  • Устроить пикник на берегу Байкала. Если Вы отправились вдоль КБЖД на теплоходе, то времени для неспешного пикника будет достаточно.
Туры по Байкалу Круизы по Байкалу Деловые мероприятия Аренда теплоходов Путеводитель по Байкалу О компании
Главный офис в Иркутске
б-р Гагарина, 44
Представительство в Москве
ул. Покровка 33/22
Подписывайтесь
на новые туры и круизы
Следите за нами в соцсетях
Visa, MasterCard, Мир
© ООО «Истлэндтурс», реестр туроператоров РТО 019809